Surely You Can’t Be Serious

Last weekend Leslie Nielsen died. 

Did you just ask yourself, who’s Leslie Nielsen?  If you did, I’m terribly sorry, but we can no longer be friends. You are dead to me now.

Leslie Nielsen was an actor who starred in Airplane! and The Naked Gun trilogy. In my humble opinion (and let’s face it, my opinion is the only one that really matters), Airplane! and The Naked Gun are the two greatest movies ever made. Brilliant films. Comedy classics. Airplane! has always been my favorite movie. It was my favorite movie when I was 10 years old, and it’s still my favorite movie at 38 (almost 39) years old. Jim Abrahams, David Zucker and Jerry Zucker, the men who created those movies, are comedy gods.  And their decision to cast Leslie Nielsen in these films was a stroke of genius.

Leslie Nielsen is dead, it’s true. Truth hurts. Maybe not as much as jumping on a bicycle with a seat missing, but it hurts. If you don’t recognize that quote from The Naked Gun 2 1/2: The Smell of Fear, then, once again, you are dead to me. Most comedies may have a funny line or two that are worth repeating. But Airplane! and The Naked Gun Series…too many gut-busting, pee in your pants, hysterical lines to count.  I’m guessing that every day, someone, somewhere utters the classic Airplane! line, Surely you can’t be serious. I am serious…and don’t call me Shirley.

In honor of Mr. Leslie Nielsen, I have created a movie called Airplane?! My Tribute to Leslie Nielsen. A few things about my movie:

  1. If you’re looking for a professionally produced and edited video, you won’t find it here…my 8 year old could produce a better movie than this one.
  2. It’s a little blurry. Sorry.
  3. You may have to screw around with the volume. Sorry.
  4. I didn’t have any female Lego figures so I had to improvise.

(If the video is not showing up here, this is the link:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SPWcqp-CZj0)

4 Responses to “Surely You Can’t Be Serious”

  1. MamaBennie Says:

    I was so sad that day….a piece of my younger self died with him…As soon as I heard, I threw in Airplane!, as it is part of my personal collection OBVIOUSLY. He was a great comedic actor and he will definitely be missed. BTW, I love your tribute 🙂

  2. Avitable Says:

    This was outstanding. Absolutely hilarious!

  3. jennyrussettlane Says:

    I’ve never heard of Leslie Nielsen. Isn’t she the one who did the TV ratings? Just kidding. I remember being riveted in the movie theater during Airplane and trying to practice the jokes in my head to casually insert in conversation. I also remember yer birthday is the 10th. Happy Birthday.

  4. froggyprager Says:

    OMG, that is great great great. I can’t belive that this did not get nominated for a golden globe. you are so awsome for doing this and putting it up. More Dr. Lori Lego Movies!


Leave a Reply

