I Share Clothes With My 4-Year-Old

My boys are back at school.  

Yippee! Woo-hoo! Rah-rah-ah-ah-ah! Roma-Roma-ma-ah! Ga-ga-ooh-la-la! Whatever the hell that means.  

R started 2nd grade and J started his last year of preschool, or what some call pre-kindergarten. One of the perks of pre-k is that the class goes on field trips.  I don’t know where they will be going on their field trips yet, but when R was in pre-k at this same school, his class went to the fire station, a local Whole Foods store and the police station.  Correction…they tried to have a field trip at the police station.  You see, when R’s preschool class arrived at the police station, they had to leave because the police were in the middle of throwing a perp in jail. (I heard the criminal was found guilty of disappointing 18 preschoolers and received 10 years with no chance of parole.  Who said our criminal justice system doesn’t work?) On field trip days, the children are supposed to wear their preschool t-shirts. Last week, J’s teachers sent each child home with a brand new preschool t-shirt. You wouldn’t think a t-shirt would cause confusion, but this one had me scratching my head.  

(The following italicized sentences are my thoughts. Because my thoughts are always more profound in italics.)  

Hmm, this shirt looks kind of large. What size is it? The tag says size youth small 6-8.  

Youth small? Are you kidding me? This shirt isn’t small, it’s big. Really big. Like Notorious B.I.G. big. You could fit a family of four in this shirt!  

J is small. A “normal” size small is big on him, so I figured this bizarro size small t-shirt would be HUGE on him.  

Is that a t-shirt or a dress?

As you can see from the picture, I was right…the t-shirt was ginormous.  Humongous. It was so big that the t-shirt could probably fit a grown adult like me.  

I wondered…  

Could I fit into a size youth small 6-8?  

Nah.  

Or maybe I could….  

Dude, where’s my head?

OMG, the t-shirt actually fit me!  

This means either:  

1. Some kid working in the t-shirt sweatshop put the wrong size label on the t-shirt or  

2. I’m a tiny human being and I need to shop in the children’s department  

I think we all know the correct answer.  

#2 of course.  

(My blog, my delusions.)

One Response to “I Share Clothes With My 4-Year-Old”

  1. MamaBennie Says:

    hahaha OMG…every kid at that preschool is going to look “gangsta”


Leave a Reply

