Goodbye Bunny Foo Foo

Little Bunny Foo Foo,
Hopping through the forest
Scooping up the field mice
And bopping them on the head

He learned how to use the CD player at a young age. He’d pop in a CD like Children’s Songs or Happytime Songs, hit the repeat button and we’d listen to it over and over.  Some of his favorite songs were “Apples & Bananas”, “No More Monkeys Jumping on the Bed” and “Little Bunny Foo Foo”.

Little Bunny Foo Foo,
I don’t want to see you
Scooping up the field mice
And bopping them on the head

But then he did what kids do.

He grew up.

He still enjoys listening to music and I often hear music coming from the playroom. Loud music. And as I approach the room to tell him to turn it down, I can hear him singing.

I gotta feeling that tonight’s gonna be a good night
That tonight’s gonna be a good night
That tonight’s gonna be a good, good night

He listens to the Black Eyed Peas. He listens to Kidz Bop. Now his favorite songs are “I Gotta Feeling” and “Boom Boom Pow”.

‘Cause I gotta feeling, woohoo, that tonight’s gonna be a good night
That tonight’s gonna be a good night
That tonight’s gonna be a good, good night

This year he voted for the Nickelodeon’s Kids’ Choice Awards – Black Eyed Peas for favorite music group, “I Gotta Feeling” for favorite song, iCarly for favorite TV show and Miranda Cosgrove for favorite TV actress. Watching the Kids’ Choice Awards was such a top priority for him that he didn’t want to go out to dinner that night; he was afraid we wouldn’t get home in time for start of the show.  But we made it home in time and he watched the Kids’ Choice Awards from beginning to end. He cheered when his choices won and expressed disappointment when his choices lost.

A few days after the awards show he said, “Rihanna performed on the Kids’ Choice Awards. I wonder if I can find her songs on itunes.”  He searched itunes and found Kidz Bop Sings Rihanna.  

Again, music is heard coming from the playroom. Loud music. And as I approach the room to tell him to turn it down, I can hear him singing.

Under my umbrella
(Ella ella, eh eh eh)
Under my umbrella
(Ella ella, eh eh eh)
Under my umbrella
(Ella ella, eh eh eh, eh eh eh)

When exactly did my 7-year-old son become a tween?

3 Responses to “Goodbye Bunny Foo Foo”

  1. cindy w Says:

    This post cracked me up because my 3 year-old just learned Little Bunny Foo Foo. I couldn’t remember the words, so we went looking for a video of it on YouTube, and of course, this is the first thing we came across.

    Well, hello, toddler nightmares! “Mommy, why the mice turn red?” Um… Well, you see, uh… Ketchup! The mice ate a lot of ketchup & spilled it everywhere! Jeez.

    If it helps, I know I was listening to pop music when I was 7, primarily because of my older sister’s influence. But I was 7 in 1983, and I very distinctly remember that as the year I discovered Duran Duran. We didn’t have MTV, so my sister would record “Friday Night Videos” on our VCR and we’d watch it on Saturday morning. I remember the video for “Hungry Like the Wolf” leaving us with our mouths hanging open. We re-wound the tape and watched it about 20 times.

  2. PrincessJenn Says:

    ROFL. They grow up way too fast these days, don’t they.

  3. Al_Pal Says:

    Heee. Ah, youth. ;p


Leave a Reply

