It’s Potty Time!

Recently I blogged about the potty training difficulties I was having with my 3-year-old. You remember that post, right? What do you mean you didn’t read it? What the hell is wrong with you It’s OK, I’ll give you a chance to redeem yourself. You can read that post now while I sit here and look at my split ends….

Why look,  I’ve got some split ends. Wow – that one strand of hair is split six times!

Oh, you’re done reading my old post and you don’t want to hear any more about my split ends? Okely dokely.

You’ll recall that J was showing little progress in potty training. He was stubborn and had no interest in giving up his diapers. I, however, was very interested in him giving up his diapers, so I continued to push the potty training.  Every night I would put him on the potty hoping that maybe, just maybe, he would happen to poop or pee and that would be the beginning of the end of diapers. But my timing was always off. Instead of pee or poop all I got were cries of,  “I wanna get off! I wanna get off! I wanna get off!”  Until one day….

Me: Time to sit on the potty. (places J on potty)

J: I WANNA GET OFF! I WANNA GET OFF! I WANNA GET OFF!

(The sweet sound of pee in the potty is heard)

J: Did I pee?

Me: Yes!

J: Can I have my trains back?

So finally something clicked. Or maybe nothing clicked but he just really really wanted his trains back. Either way, after this momentous day in pee pee history, to quote Once Upon A Potty, he liked his potty even more and used it every time. That’s right – a mere ten days after blogging about how my kid would be going off to college in diapers, my kid was potty trained.

Let me shout it from the highest mountain top, MY…wait, this is the midwest, we don’t have mountains.

Let me shout it from the highest sledding hill, MY KID IS POTTY TRAINED! MY KID IS POTTY TRAINED!

I am ecstatic!  The thought of not having to buy diapers again (or at least until I’m (1) a grandparent or (2) incontinent) truly makes me giddy.  My baby is a big boy now and I couldn’t be happier.

The moral of the story is that in potty training, when all else fails including practice, bribery and tough love, don’t give up. Just write a blog post where you bitch and moan about how your kid’s not potty trained yet and you’ll be saying bye-bye to diapers in no time. It worked for me.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to write a blog post about how my son won’t stop sucking his thumb.

2 Responses to “It’s Potty Time!”

  1. Ben Says:

    “Can I have my trains back?” Classic. Tell him that story on every birthday from age 12 on. He deserves it.

    And many congratulations on reaching the no diaper stage of life.

  2. kathygee1 Says:

    Congratulations. A big parenting milestone! 😀


Leave a Reply

