Can You Tell Me How To Get To Sesame….Road?

You may have noticed that I suck at blogging the frequency of my posts in 2010 has sucked been less than stellar. The problem is I start writing a post but then another awe-inspiring interesting idea for a post pops into my head. I end up putting the first post on hold as I start another post about the new idea. This can happen several times which explains why I have 19 half written posts in my drafts folder. One of these half written posts was about the vacation we took in June 2009. Since we are going to Walt Disney World soon, I figured it would be a good idea to finish that old vacation post before embarking on our next vacation.

In June we took a vacation to Langhorne, PA. What’s in Langhorne, PA? Why, Sesame Place of course! Sesame Place is a theme park devoted to Sesame Street complete with rides, shows and water fun. It has been around since 1980 but I never heard of it until I had kids and read about it in a parenting magazine. When I read about Sesame Place, it sounded a little bit like Walt Disney World but on a much smaller scale. We weren’t quite ready to do a Disney family trip, so we decided to try a Sesame Place vacation instead.

(Disclaimer: This post is not being sponsored by Sesame Place. I am not being compensated. But if I was, like Cookie Monster, I would gladly accept my compensation in cookies)

Here are some random thoughts about our Sesame Place vacation:

  • The actual address of Sesame Place is 100 Sesame Road. If you’re going to have a theme park devoted to Sesame Street, wouldn’t you expect the address to be Sesame Street, not Sesame Road?
  • It’s amazing that a 6-year-old boy can be brave enough to ride a roller coaster but is scared shitless by a person walking around in a 6 foot Elmo costume.
  • Sesame Place is filled with stores and kiosks that sell all kinds of Sesame Street merchandise. It was nice to see some of the less popular characters like Prairie Dawn, The Count and Telly Monster get a little face time on the merchandise.
  • When choosing names for my children, I always said I wanted names that could be found on mugs, pencils and stickers. As a kid, I had a tough time finding my name on stuff. Sure, “Laurie” was easy to find, but it was a lot harder to find “Lori”. At Sesame Place we tried to find personalized mugs for my boys but both of their names were completely sold out!  D’oh! (And, of course, they didn’t have “Lori” either.)
  • You know you’re not from Langhorne, PA when you have no idea what a jughandle turn is.
  • You know you’re from Cook County, IL when you consider 6% sales tax one of the highlights of the trip.
  • We drove by a mattress store called Sleepy’s. Best name for a mattress store ever.
  • We spent a day at the Please Touch Museum in Philadelphia.  It’s a great children’s museum and my kids loved it.  I can’t help but think that in our litigious society, it won’t be long before some pedophile sues the Please Touch Museum for false advertisement. (But your honor, it said Please Touch right on my admission ticket!)
  • The women’s bathroom in the Philadelphia International Airport had free tampons and pads. So if you’re at this airport you’ll be paying for your bags, snacks, wi-fi, blankets and pillows, but not your feminine hygiene products. Stock up girls! (Sorry boys, no freebies for you.)
  • It is impossible to get two kids to both look good in the same photo.
  • Kids + vacation + portable DVD players = happy kids & happy parents. I wonder how we survived childhood vacations without portable DVD players. When babies are born, instead of giving parents free samples of formula, hospitals should give parents a portable DVD player. National portable DVD player coverage needs to be part of health care reform.

So there you have it – my Sesame Place vacation post is finally done. One draft down, only 18 more to go!

 

3 Responses to “Can You Tell Me How To Get To Sesame….Road?”

  1. Maura Says:

    I’m glad you finished this one! 🙂 It’s inexplicable why they put it on Sesame Road instead of Sesame Street, to be sure.

    And, as someone with an unusual first name, I completely relate to giving your kids more common names!

  2. froggyprager Says:

    that sounds fun, it is weird how with both my 4 and 7 year olds, they think SS is for babies. I had not even heard of this place, clearly they don’t have the same marketing budget as Disney. I would avoid Disney if you can but my wife has a different opinion. My question for you is: is it Henry monster or Harry Monster. I have books with both in there. Also, we got an old big book of long bed time stories form SS that we really enjoyed for a long time but it was out of print so I had to get an old used one off the web some place.

  3. froggyprager Says:

    Oh yes, and your fans would like you to get to the other 18 posts for 2010!


Leave a Reply

