Carded

It’s my birthday today – I’m 38 years old.  I don’t usually play the lottery, but I like to buy a ticket on my birthday. I know that my chance of winning the lottery doesn’t increase just because it’s my birthday, but I have delusions that it does.  So this morning I went to the local liquor store to buy my ticket.  I guess the early morning winos were still passed out at home because I was the only customer in the store. Or maybe the liquor business is hurting due to the Dairy Queen next store – a Dairy Queen Blizzard trumps booze hands down in my humble opinion. But I digress. I was about to ask the cashier for a lottery ticket when I thought, hmmm….I’m 38 years old today…if I buy some alcohol, I wonder if he’d card me.  I grabbed a 6 pack of Mike’s Hard Lemonade and brought it to the cashier.

Cashier: Can I see your ID?

Me: You want to see my ID? How old do you think I am?

Cashier: I’d say 23 or 24.

Well happy 23rd or 24th birthday to me! The liquor store cashier is now my new best friend. And tonight’s Mega Millions jackpot is $140 million and I’m sure I’ll win….because it’s my birthday!

2 Responses to “Carded”

  1. Jim Brochowski Says:

    This is a great story. I’m glad you shared it. 23 or 24 eh? I knew I was waaay off at 29.

    Happy Birthday. Enjoy your day!

    The Mega Millions however, is mine. 😉

  2. Aunt Becky Says:

    Happy Birthday, duder!


Leave a Reply

