BlogHer ’09

A lot can change in one year. For instance, if one year ago someone had mentioned BlogHer ’09 to me, I would have been totally clueless. My response would have been along the lines of, “BlogHer? What the hell is BlogHer? Leave me alone, I have to check my Facebook!”  Yes, it was approximately one year ago that I dipped my toe into the social media pond and joined Facebook. One year ago I was still in the honeymoon phase of Facebook, when Facebook was fun, not like Facebook now which is lame and aggravating. Somehow Facebook led to joining Twitter which in turn led to the creation of this very blog.

Twitter has introduced me to many friendly, funny and creative people so it’s no surprise that these people have funny, creative and moving blogs.  And it’s through Twitter that I learned that once a year these bloggers get together for a conference devoted to the blogosphere and everything blog-related –  BlogHer.  As the date of BlogHer ’09 got closer, more and more people were tweeting about it. All of this BlogHer talk peaked my curiosity. Maybe I could partake in some of the BlogHer fun, after all, BlogHer ’09 was going to be held in Chicago – Chicago is practically my backyard (that is, if your yard was 25 miles away from your house).   I really wanted to meet in real life the people I follow on Twitter as well as the authors of the blogs I read, but my attempts to procure any type of pass to BlogHer was an epic fail.  I contemplated driving down to Chicago without a BlogHer ticket to just hang out in the lobby of the Sheraton hoping that I’d meet people.  But I figured real BlogHers would be busy doing scheduled BlogHer activities and hanging out in the lobby without a BlogHer pass would be make me a creepy loser wanna-be BlogHer stalker and someone might call security on me.  So I stayed home and lived vicariously through the tweets of others.  I learned a lot about BlogHer including some of the BlogHer lingo: 

BlogHer ’09:  Attended by around 1400 bloggers, this 3 day blogging conference in Chicago at the Sheraton was complete with interesting speakers, discussion groups and opportunities meet with some of the brands that support bloggers.  Oh, and there are lots and lots of parties. 

Swag: free stuff

Bewbs: breasts

Parties: Did I mention there were a lot of parties?

Squee: I’m still not sure what it means to squee.

Reading the tweets from BlogHer I realized that I didn’t belong there. BlogHer is for the blogging community, a community that I’m not part of. Yes, I have a blog, but I have a hard time keeping up with it. I have more drafts than actual posts and I can’t seem to find the time to complete them. So many of the BlogHer attendees balance work and family while maintaining successful blogs that people want to read.  This balance has eluded me, resulting in a small and insignificant blog written by a  small and insignificant blogger. And I’m not sure if BlogHer is the place for a blogger like me. 

As I was reading BlogHer tweets thinking about how there’s no way I could possibly be a part of this blogging community, I received an unexpected tweet.  One of my “in real life” friends, a real social media goddess, had gone to BlogHer for the day and she tweeted:

Key learning (not kidding) is @drlori71 can legitimately call herself a humor blogger. Seriously, you should read her Loripalooza blog.

Me? A legitimate blogger? Well, I wasn’t sure if I agreed with that, but it sure was nice to hear. Plus, it’s not polite to reject unsolicited flattery and giant boosts to the ego, so I gladly accepted it.  Yet, I still found it odd that someone could consider me a legitimate blogger.  But maybe BlogHer ’09  could help me realize my blogging potential.  One thing I learned from BlogHer ’09 is inspiration; the BlogHer attendees have  inspired me to work harder on my blog and really make an effort to post more frequently.  So if one person thinks of me as a legitimate blogger, maybe others will too and I’ll be an accepted member of the blogging community. 

And maybe, just maybe, one day I’ll make it to BlogHer.

And maybe one day the Cubs will make it to the World Series.

Will either of these things actually happen? We’ll just wait and see.

9 Responses to “BlogHer ’09”

  1. becky Says:

    awww…i’ve been blogging for almost 4 years and i still sometimes think that i wouldn’t fit in with other bloggers. don’t sell yourself short 🙂

  2. Maura ~ @MoBurns67 Says:

    A “squee” is that unique noise that females make upon spotting each other, before closing in for a bear hug. It is in the frequency range usually reserved for canine hearing.

    If you have a blog, you’re a blogger. There is no bar to meet. One good aspect about BlogHer is that there is an emphasis put on making it comfortable for newer bloggers. You should give some consideration to going to it or one of the other conferences that are held.

    I wish you’d come down to hang with us — it wasn’t as exclusive as you thought and you would not have been seen as creepy!

  3. Anne Says:

    Just stopping by from BlogHer@Home. Love your blog name!

  4. melissakellas Says:

    You ROCK to me! Love your blog & your twitters! You’re one of the reasons why I love twitter – I don’t “know” you but I know of you and that is cool! One of these days we will meet- our own – nonBlogHer! 🙂

  5. bklein34 Says:

    2010 BlogHer is in NY in August… I’m in if you are!

  6. debra Says:

    Of course, you’re legitimate. Your blog is great and I love your writing. I haven’t been to BlogHer either. Still debating whether or not I ever will but if I do, maybe we can go together. It would be great to meet you!

  7. Jim Brochowski Says:

    See above – you have a blog, you are a blogger. There are no requirements beyond that.

    Your blog is one of my favorites. Your insightful, thought provoking posts are always entertaining.

    Don’t even wait for BlogHer 2010. Find the next social media workshop in your area – go and connect. You’ll be glad you did.

    Okay, all that said – get to work on that next post. Your fan base is waiting. 😉

  8. froggyprager Says:

    I prefer a real blog written by a real person that is not full of ads and crap. I blog written by a friend, that is funny and personal is what I want to read. I actually am turned off by some of the big twitter/ blogger people who seem all about getting more hits/ more readers/ more connections/ etc. You should have gone down and checked it out. Now stop playing with your kids, treating your patients and blog sister.

  9. Ben Says:

    OK, first of all, if I was there, anyone could be there.

    Second of all, I appreciate the fact that you tell everyone that it was angst that kept you away other than fear of meeting me.

    Third, if I’m going next year, then you’re going. End of discussion.

    Oh yeah, and you’re totally legit.


Leave a Reply

